Bye, Coach Cal.

 

Or maybe instead UK will send a plane for your stuff?

Or maybe instead UK will send a plane for your stuff?

I won’t even lie and say that I was the city’s biggest Tiger fan. I’d pay attention around tournament time and own the requisite T-shirt. 

 

And the one time I met Coach Cal, he launched into a tirade about the newspaper, and I was thinking to myself – I write a column and have no control over any of the stuff you’re talking about – but it was Coach Cal so I nodded respectfully and pretended to care.

That said, Tiger b-ball united this city like nothing else. There is tremendous value in that, and I respect what he was able to do with his team. Frankly, I was more excited that the seniors were going to graduate than I was about what’s in the W column.

So, I wish Cal well in Kentucky, although the way he left didn’t quite fit with the class act image that I had in my mind (newspaper tirade aside). It’ll be interesting to see how he spins it in his press conference in the am.

