Inspiration everywhere

 

Jefferson Award winner Pat Davis

Jefferson Award winner Pat Davis

I presented one of 10 Jefferson Awards tonight at The Peabody Hotel, and if I’d doubted that this city is full of fantastic, caring, compassionate people committed to change, I got a reminder.

 

I introduced twin sisters – young ladies – who have dedicated much of their free time to helping children with special needs, even babysitting for free so the parents could have a much-needed night out.

But it was Pat Davis, who has worked with youth in Westwood (police say crime there has gone down 70 percent since her program started), who will go to Washington, D.C. to represent Memphis in what is the equivalent of the Nobel Peace Prize for volunteers. 

Hearing the stories, I realized I could – and should – be doing more for my community. The challenge is on, and I accept it!

