My dog lost 10 pounds in one day!

Enough dog hair to make another dog

Enough dog hair to make another dog

Well, maybe not 10 pounds, but I swear before God that I brushed enough hair out of my Rottweiler mix rescue dog today to create a Locks of Love wig for every dog in the tri-state area who has lost its hair due to chemotherapy.

I’d heard about this super brush – the FURminator – but it’s like $50. (It’s cheaper online, but I was buying dog food and saw it at Petco.) I was like – $50 for a dog brush? I mean, I love Layla and she sheds like a b****, but $50????

The FURminator. Let it change your life.

The FURminator. Let it change your life.

But I didn’t do much shopping this weekend, so I splurged. That and this morning, in the corner of my bedroom where my dog sleeps, I found a hair ball the size of a small rodent. That is not hot.

So I bought the pricey brush, took the dog to the park (she loves the smell of the outdoors sooo much – not sure why) and the picture above is what I brushed out that the wind didn’t blow away.

Because I am brilliant and thought the whole thing through, I wore a white T-shirt which is now covered in dog hair. Also not hot.

But if I do this even semi-regularly, I won’t have to vacuum nearly as much, and vacuuming is  one of the household tasks I hate the most! FURminator, thank you!

My dog minus most of her undercoat

My dog minus most of her undercoat

3 thoughts on “My dog lost 10 pounds in one day!

  1. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Betty

    http://smallpet.info

  2. Look at my sweet and shiny fur-niece! I and anyone who has experienced the love piles left on their clothing following a less than rigorous petting of your dog thanks you.

  3. lol…looks like you have enough to make a pillow 😉 I bet she feels a lot more comfortable and glad you put in the work.

Leave a reply.

