Ta-Nehisi Coates: My Nerd Crush – at Rhodes College Feb. 28

Ta-Nehisi Coates: My Nerd Crush – at Rhodes College Feb. 28

I know he’s partnered, but I have THE. WORST. NERD. CRUSH. EVER!! on this man. Makes what I have (had?) for Rudy Gay/Ray Allen/Michael Ealy/Idris Elba look like vomit-flecked revulsion.

At least once a week Coates elegantly says what I got red-faced trying to explain to someone who has plopped his/her unwashed a$$* on my FB page/into my mentions with the “Why you gotta make everything about race?” whine.

Today’s example

From time to time, someone will ask why I write so much about racism. The underlying charge is that a writer should cease to follow his curiosities.

Preach, preacher! More of Coates giving me life, and that more abundantly:

Many of the vexing moral issues of our time–inequality, schooling, the drug war, mass incarceration–simply can’t be discussed without discussing racism. People sometimes try to do so (especially in the vein of inequality.) Their analysis is the poorer for it.

After life, he gives me a lesson on Hitler’s affinity for the racist American South – something I’d never take the time to research on my own, but I feel smarter having read it: (From Timothy Snyder’s The Bloodlands🙂

As Hitler imagined the future, Germany would deal with the Slavs much as the North Americans had dealt with the Indians. The Volga River in Russia, he once proclaimed, will be Germany’s Mississippi.

He’s giving a lecture at Rhodes College at 5 p.m. Feb. 28. I’ll be the woman at the front tossing my draws on stage. Don’t try to stop me. 

*Of course, I have no way of knowing for certain if said a$$ is unfamiliar with soap and water, something in my spirit says it may be.

2 thoughts on “Ta-Nehisi Coates: My Nerd Crush – at Rhodes College Feb. 28

  1. Two things:

    1) Paragraph two made me laugh so hard that I thought I might actually die from a lack of oxygen.

    2) I’d like to go to this with you! Is it open to the public? And do you have to buy tickets ahead of time?

Leave a reply.

